British Touring Car Championship Round 6: Snetterton

The six-week break has shaken up the pecking order of the teams somewhat, with a few surprise results at this Snetterton BTCC race.

After a six-week break, the British Touring Car Championship has once again returned to Snetterton, with the usual post-break uncertainty providing some great racing. The DynoJet Toyota Avensis came back stronger than ever with a pole position and podium finish in the first race. Championship chasers Jason Plato and Andrew Jordan took the first two wins, with Dave Newsham taking the last win of the day.

Wrathall took the pole position in the Avensis, but was overtaken at the start of the race by Jason Plato's MG6. Plato took the win - his third this year - but Wrathall managed to hold off Andrew Jordan, who was attacking hard in the Pirtek Honda Civic.

Subscribe to evo magazine

evo is 21 and to celebrate, we're returning to 1998 prices! Subscribe now to SAVE 39% on the shop price and get evo for its original cover price of £3.00 an issue, plus get a FREE gift worth £25!

Jordan dominated the second race, following a scappy collision between Matt Neal and Jason Plato, who were battling for the lead. Gordon Shedden did his best to get past in second, while Plato managed to recover on the track to take third place.

Dave Newsham took the third win of the day, with the Team ES Vauxhall Vectra holding its own at the head of the field. Second and third place went to Tom Onslow-Cole and Jason Plato after Shedden was excluded from the race for exceeding turbo boost limits. 

Advertisement - Article continues below

The next round of this year's BTCC, will be held at Knockhill on 25-26 August. For more detailed race results and championship standings, visit

2012 Dunlop BTCC Drivers’ Points after Snetterton (round 6 of 10):

Race 1
1Jason PlatoMG6
2Frank WrathallToyota Avensis
3Andrew JordanHonda Civic
Race 2
1Andrew JordanHonda Civic
2Gordon SheddenHonda Civic
3Jason PlatoMG6
Race 3
1Dave NewshamVauxhall Vectra
2Tom Onslow-ColeBMW 320si E90
3Gordon SheddenHonda Civic
Championship points and positions
1Matt Neal255 points
2Gordon Shedden247
3Jason Plato245
4Andrew Jordan218
5Robert Collard178

Most Popular

sports cars

Porsche ditches four-cylinder for flat-six in Cayman and Boxster GTS

New models eschew turbos with detuned 4-litre from the Spyder and GT4
15 Jan 2020
Toyota GT 86

Toyota GT86 vs Mazda MX-5 vs Abarth 124 Spider – lightweight sports car shootout

Three affordable sports cars from Japan and, er, Japan battle it out on the Yorkshire Dales
14 Jan 2020

2020 Geneva motor show preview

Electrification will likely dominate proceedings, but Geneva will have plenty of performance metal to get excited about too
17 Jan 2020
Hyundai i30 N hatchback

Hyundai i30 Fastback N versus the Col de Turini

We take the Hyundai i30 Fastback N up the Col de Turini, a 31km stage of the Monte Carlo World Rally Championship
19 Jul 2019