Formula E: Beijing race gallery

The first ever first Formula E race was held in Beijing, with Lucas di Grassi taking the win for the Audi Sport ABT team.

If Formula E was hoping to make an impact in its first race, a huge accident between leading drivers Nick Heidfeld and Nicolas Prost probably wasn’t what the organisers had in mind.

Both drivers walked away unscathed with Prost limping across the line in ninth place, but the first-ever Formula E victory was taken by Lucas di Grassi for the Audi Sport ABT team. Andretti’s Franck Montagny followed three seconds later, and British driver Sam Bird took the final podium place in his Virgin Racing car, following an energy-usage penalty for Daniel Abt. All cars in the series run on Michelin tyres.

Subscribe to evo magazine

evo is 21 and to celebrate, we're returning to 1998 prices! Subscribe now to SAVE 39% on the shop price and get evo for its original cover price of £3.00 an issue, plus get a FREE gift worth £25!

The series is already justifying itself with close racing and exciting action though, and di Grassi is already looking forward to the next round at Putrajaya in Malaysia, on November 22. 'To win the race is like a dream come true,' said di Grassi.




Formula e cars driven on track

13 Jul 2019

Most Popular

Volkswagen Golf GTI hatchback

New Volkswagen Golf GTI leaked ahead of reveal

Following a slew of spy shots last year, a camo-free Mk8 Golf GTI surfaces online
20 Jan 2020

Lotus's badge-engineered specials: from Cortina to Carlton and VX220

Some collaborations more secretive than others, a handful of models have received backing from Lotus over the years. We've gathered the very best
19 Jan 2020
Ford Focus RS

Ford Focus RS500 v Audi RS3 – new v used

One’s an eight-year-old Ford, the other a brand new Audi. But which of these five‑cylinder superhatches deserves your £45k?
18 Jan 2020
Hyundai i30 N hatchback

Hyundai i30 Fastback N versus the Col de Turini

We take the Hyundai i30 Fastback N up the Col de Turini, a 31km stage of the Monte Carlo World Rally Championship
19 Jul 2019