Find a car review


Historic Motoring Awards 2019 – shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2019 Historic Motoring Awards has been revealed

Now in its ninth year, The Historic Motoring Awards are the most prestigious in the industry, recognising the elite in the international classic automotive world.

Held on 17th October 2019 at the stunning Rosewood Hotel London, this distinguished gala night sees the celebration of a broad selection of categories, selected by the experts at Octane and an international panel of judges. The evening will be hosted by broadcaster and Formula 1 pundit Steve Rider, with awards to celebrate the vital contributions to the classic motoring industry over the last twelve months.

To reserve your exclusive place at this auspicious event, click here for more information on the Historic Motoring Awards website

Below is the official shortlist for this year's awards:

Car of the year (to be voted on by the public)

Talbot Lago T26 Grand Sport Fastback Coupé (Pebble Beach)

Lamborghini Countach (Octane 190)

Invicta S-Type Low Chassis (Octane 195)

Porsche 917 (Octane 193)

Skinner Special (Octane 188)

Jaguar C-type (winner of the London Concours)

1928 Aston Martin Sports (Octane 193)

The Wimille Bugatti Type 59/50B (La Vie en Bleu)

BMW Garmisch concept car (Villa d’Este)

Alfa Romeo 8C 2900B (Best of the Best winner)


Bespoke Car of the Year

Ecurie Ecosse LM69 (Ecurie Ecosse)

Aston Martin DB4GT Zagato Continuation (Aston Martin)

Jaguar E-type special edition (E-type UK)

Lancia Aurelia Outlaw (Thornley Kelham)

Jaguar XK120-LM (Justin Hills & Barry Fitzgerald)


Performance Car of the Year

Aston Martin AMR Vantage 

Ferrari F8 Tributo 

Ford Mustang Bullitt

Porsche Cayman GT4

McLaren GT


Restoration of the Year

Lamborghini Miura SV (Lamborghini Polo Storico)

Bizzarrini 5300GT Strada (Thornley Kelham)

Costin Nathan (co-ordinated by Roger Nathan)

Jaguar E-type Chassis 54 (E-type UK)

ERA ‘Challenger’ (Duncan Ricketts)


Breakthrough Event of the Year

South African Historic Grand Prix Festival

Coffee & Classics at Classic Motor Hub

Veloce Charity Day

Classics at the Manor

Stonor Supercar Sunday


Concours of the Year

The London Concours

Chantilly Arts et Elegance

Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance

Concours d’Elegance Suisse

Heveningham Concours


Motorsport Event of The Year

Tour De Corse Historique

Peking to Paris Motor Challenge

Trans Himalayan Adventure

The Silverstone Classic

Vintage Revival Montlhéry


Motoring Event of The Year

RetroClassics Bavaria

Rétromobile (Paris)

Auto Moto d’Epoca (Padova)

Bicester Super Scramble

Zoute Grand Prix


Race Series of the Year

Formula Vintage (VSCC)

Pre-66 Grand Prix Cars (HGPCA)

Thundersports (HSCC)

Allstars (HRDC)

Future Classics (CSCC)


Club of the Year

Bentley Drivers Club

E-type Club

Bugatti Owners’ Club

Vintage Sports-Car Club

Alvis Owner Club


Industry Supporter of the Year

A.Lange & Söhne

Richard Mille

Footman James

Osato Research



Specialist of the Year

Thornley Kelham


Nicholas Mee

Trinity Engineering

Rolls-Royce and Bentley Specialists’ Association


Personal Achievement of the Year

Paul Mathers

Peter Mullin

Henry Pearman

Roald Goethe

Kurt Engelhorn


Heritage Collection of the Year

The ROFGO Collection

Audi Heritage Collection

Citroën Conservatoire

Jaguar Classic Collection

BMW Museum


Museum of the Year

Petersen Automotive Museum

Automuseum Maybach-Fahrseuge

The Bugatti Trust

The National Motor Museum, Beaulieu

Manoir de l’Automobile, Lohéac


Publication of the Year

Alfa Romeo Giulia (185), Patrick Dasse, Dingwort, six volumes each individually priced

The Bristol Aeroplane Company – Car Division (186), BOHT, Palawan, £500-750.

The Cars You Always Promised Yourself (188), Steve Saxty, Porter Press, £44.95  

Donington Park: the Pioneers (189), John Bailie, Silver Fox Creative Ltd, £85

Black & Gold: the Story of the John Player Specials (190), Johnny Tipler, Coterie Press, £49.95

Vintage Bentleys in Australia (issue 192), Various authors, Peleus Press, £125

One Formula – 50 years of Car Design (194), Gordon Murray, Porter Press £225

The Self-Preservation Society: 50 Years of The Italian Job (196), Matthew Field, Porter Press, £45


The Enzo Award

Tony Willis

Ian  Barkaway (Barkaways)

Laurent Blomet (Happy Few Racing)

Nick Cartwright (Nick Cartwright Specialist Cars)

Colin Sowter (Superformance)


The Vantage Award

Robert Blakemore (Ecurie Bertelli)

Kevin Kay (Kevin Kay Restorations)

Jamie Chadwick

Bob Fountain (Aston Workshop)

Marek Reichman




Mercedes GLE

2019 Mercedes GLE400d review – a worthy original

12 Sep 2019
Porsche 911 Carrera 4

2019 Porsche 911 Carrera 4 and Carrera 4 Cabriolet detailed

12 Sep 2019

Mercedes-AMG electric car to target Porsche Taycan and Tesla Model S

10 Sep 2019

2020 Volkswagen ID.3 revealed - VW’s electric revolution is here

9 May 2019

Most Popular

Best cars

Best family cars that are still fun to drive

Saloon, hatchback or SUV, family cars come in all shapes and sizes, and needn’t be a snore to drive. These are some of the team’s favourites.
13 Sep 2019
Abarth 595

2020 Abarth 595 Pista arrives with 162bhp

The supermini has been given a new Garrett turbocharger, paint options and tweaks inside
13 Sep 2019

Best used cars for sale this week

We’ve delved into the classifieds and chosen our favourite cars for sale this week
13 Sep 2019
Advertisement Feature

Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport - chosen by those in the know

The perfect choice for those looking to extract every last drop of performance, we run down Goodyear's Eagle F1 SuperSport range
12 Jun 2019