Skip advert

Historic Motoring Awards 2020 – watch the ceremony live online

The glamorous award ceremony goes virtual for 2020, with three new categories. Sign-up to watch the event live on 22 October, and vote for your favourite car of the year

Celebrating their tenth anniversary, The Historic Motoring Awards are the industry’s most prestigious, recognising the elite in the international classic automotive world. Organised by evo’s sister magazine, Octane, the event will take place on 22 October 2020 and you can watch a livestream from the night’s celebrations here.

Advertisement - Article continues below

Perhaps unsurprisingly, this year's award ceremony is going to be a little different, with proceedings to be held virtually on the night. That means the event will be live streamed online for the first time, and is completely free to watch. 

What makes the Historic Motoring Awards so highly respected within the industry? Not only a celebration of the best and brightest within the industry, the broad selection of categories is selected by the experts at Octane and those nominated are then voted on by an international panel of judges – including names such as Derek Bell MBE, Peter Stevens and Jay Leno.

> This Ferrari 250 GTE is the world’s coolest police car

The Awards will be hosted by racing driver and presenter Amanda Stretton, and will feature live feeds, messages from judges as well as a live people’s vote for the Car of the Year, which will be revealed at the end of the show. 

Skip advert
Advertisement - Article continues below

Due to the broad impact that the Covid-19 pandemic has had on the classic car calendar and motorsport season, several categories have been altered. The most exciting change is the introduction of three new categories: Apprentice of the Year, Classic Car Ambassador of the Year and The Lockdown Initiative 2020.

Advertisement - Article continues below

This year's unique scenario means that the Historic Motoring Awards will be streamed live – and it's entirely free to watch. To watch, register for your free tickets ahead of the live event here.

Car of the Year (to be voted on by the public)

  • Ferrari 330 GTS Spider (London Concours winner)
  • Bertone Stratos Zero
  • Mercedes-Benz SSKL recreation
  • Porsche 930 GTX
  • Ferrari 250 GTE police car
  • Land Rover Series I ‘Oxford’ (1955/56 Oxford-Cambridge expedition) 
  • Nissan Skyline R32 GTR ‘Godzilla’
  • Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 racer (ex-Mussolini)
  • McLaren F1 GTR (1995 Le Mans winner)
  • 1907 Peking-Paris Itala

Vote for your favourite here

Restoration of the Year

  • Land Rover Pre-Production Prototype Number 7 (JLR Classic)
  • Aston Martin DB4 SII (Thornley Kelham)
  • Audi Type R Imperator (Audi)
  • Vauxhall 30/98 (Piers Trevelyan)
  • 1911 De Dion lorry (Nick Pellett)
  • BMW 328 Mille Miglia (Tom Fischer)

Publication of the Year

  • Ballot – Daniel Cabart & Gautam Sen, pub. Dalton Watson, £270
  • The Aston Martin V8 1969-2000 – Russell Hayes, pub. Palawan Press, £600+
  • Weekend Heroes II – Tony Adriaensens, pub. Corsa Research, £500
  • Shadow, the Magnificent Machines of a Man of Mystery – Pete Lyons, pub. Evro, £75
  • The Lamborghini Miura – By Jon Pressnell, pub. Kidston SA, £400 

Museum/ Collection of the Year

  • Autoworld Brussels
  • The Petersen Museum
  • Brooklands Museum
  • The Mercedes-Benz Museum
  • Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
  • Auto & Technik Museum Sinsheim

Specialist of the Year

  • Artcurial
  • Lamborghini Polo Storico
  • E-type UK
  • FCA Heritage
  • Longstone Tyres
  • JF Stanley & Co

Industry Supporter of the Year

  • Hagerty
  • EFG
  • A. Lange & Söhne
  • Immun’Âge
  • Richard Mille

Personal Achievement

  • Daniel Geoghegan (Bicester Motion)
  • Peter Mullin (The Mullin Museum)
  • Mark Perkins (Historics)
  • Phil McGovern (Caffeine & Machine)
  • Sammy Miller (Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum)

The Vantage Award

  • Darren Turner
  • Dylan Miles
  • Guy Wyles
  • Kees Huis in ‘t Veld
  • John McGurk

Rising Star Award

  • Merlin McCormack (Duke of London)
  • Alicia White (Club des Autos)
  • Charlotte Vowden
  • George & Jimmy Howson (Petroleum & Co)
  • Ben Stinson (Classic Motor Hub)
  • Rory Henderson (Henderson Fellowes)

The Lockdown Initiative 2020

  • Le Mans
  • Tim Layzell & Goodwood Road Racing Club
  • REVS-Limiter
  • Concours Virtual
  • Le Mans Classic/Peter Auto
  • Petersen Car Week
  • The Mercedes-Benz Museum
  • Isolation Island Concours d’Elegance

Apprentice of the Year

  • Harry Ruffell Hazell – Classic Motor Cars
  • Billy Strutt – P&A Wood
  • Max Payne – Hillier Hill
  • Jack Dormer – Gentry Restorations
  • Zack Whyte – AJ Glew
  • Oliver Taylor-Lane – Classic Performance Engineering

Classic Car Ambassador of the Year

  • Tom Hartley (Snr)
  • Rev Adam Gompertz
  • Tony O’Keeffe
  • William Loughran
  • McKeel Hagerty

Bespoke Car of the Year

  • Mini Remastered (David Brown Automotive)
  • CEGGA Ferrari 250TR (David Cooke/Neil Twyman)
  • ARES Panther (ARES Design)
  • Aston Martin Vanquish 25 (Ian Callum)
  • Eagle Lightweight GT (Eagle E-types)
  • Rolls-Royce Dawn Silver Bullet Speedster
  • Bentley Bacalar
Skip advert
Skip advert

Most Popular

Ford Mustang GT 2024 review – old school in all the right ways
Ford Mustang GT – front

Ford Mustang GT 2024 review – old school in all the right ways

We loved the new Ford Mustang in track-focused Dark Horse form – how does the standard GT fare?
23 May 2024
BMW M135i 2024 review – a match for the Volkswagen Golf R?
BMW M135i review

BMW M135i 2024 review – a match for the Volkswagen Golf R?

BMW’s hot hatch is a good car, but no longer a unique one, and misses the mark for pure fun
22 May 2024
Renault Sport Clio 172 Cup (2002 - 2003): a rally homologation special for under £10,000
Renault Sport Clio 172 Cup

Renault Sport Clio 172 Cup (2002 - 2003): a rally homologation special for under £10,000

A true race-bred special, the Clio 172 Cup is one of the lightest – and purest – Renault Sport models ever
22 May 2024