Opinion

Lewis Hamilton is in the best Formula 1 car, but he has also been instrumental in making Mercedes unbeatable
Opinion

Lewis Hamilton is in the best Formula 1 car, but he has also been instrumental in making Mercedes unbeatable

If winning in a Mercedes is so easy, why does Toto Wolff ask Daimler to send a cheque for $54million to Hamilton each year?
17 Nov 2020
'Now, more than ever, we should draw on our collective love of cars and driving'
Opinion

'Now, more than ever, we should draw on our collective love of cars and driving'

I can't wait to be sitting in a bloody great traffic jam, surrounded by humanity
17 Nov 2020
'A Lamborghini Aventador is pure showtime, and the way it speaks to my young son demonstrates that to a T'
Lamborghini Aventador

'A Lamborghini Aventador is pure showtime, and the way it speaks to my young son demonstrates that to a T'

Does Porter like the Aventador? No, but his boy doesn’t need to know that
22 Sep 2020
'The thought that I could well have been to my last Geneva motor show is decidedly sad'
Opinion

'The thought that I could well have been to my last Geneva motor show is decidedly sad'

The car world will be a less colourful place if motor shows are driven to extinction
9 Sep 2020
Porter seeks enlightenment on one of the most mystifying issues in motoring
Cupra

Porter seeks enlightenment on one of the most mystifying issues in motoring

"You cannot stop now!" Jesus shouted. "Your soul will not rest if you do not find the answer you need!" 
18 Aug 2020
'The world doesn't need this many supercars'
Opinion

'The world doesn't need this many supercars'

Covid-19 is a wake-up call for certain car makers and their business models
4 Aug 2020
'It's conceivable that the spiritual home of the supercar could have become not Modena, but Macclesfield'
Opinion

'It's conceivable that the spiritual home of the supercar could have become not Modena, but Macclesfield'

The early days of the supercar in an alternate reality that's also strangely familiar...
21 Jul 2020
'Driving a new Ferrari on those glorious roads was to feel like we had been given the keys to a kingdom'
Opinion

'Driving a new Ferrari on those glorious roads was to feel like we had been given the keys to a kingdom'

Our passion for the thrill of driving owes so much to the thrill of Italy
7 Jul 2020
'I'd forgotten how much you discover about a car when you have to rub your hand over every panel' 
Opinion

'I'd forgotten how much you discover about a car when you have to rub your hand over every panel' 

Wash and learn - there's still life in the old car-design ways 
23 Jun 2020
'Some famous names are deadly serious about e-sports and have spent a bomb on a new home racing simulator'
Opinion

'Some famous names are deadly serious about e-sports and have spent a bomb on a new home racing simulator'

Lockdown reminds us how good it feels to get in a car - real or otherwise
9 Jun 2020
'The most memorable drives are rarely just about the car'
Opinion

'The most memorable drives are rarely just about the car'

Turning that tenner for the pub into petrol for my very own car was well, well worth it just to keep that first drive going
26 May 2020
Meaden’s love for the Subaru Impreza always leads back to those early Turbos
Opinion

Meaden’s love for the Subaru Impreza always leads back to those early Turbos

'With all-wheel drive and a price tag of just under £18,000, it was an Integrale Evo II for the common man'
13 May 2020
'Australia fell out of love with Holden, and it’s paid the ultimate price'
Opinion

'Australia fell out of love with Holden, and it’s paid the ultimate price'

The Commodore was a symbol of an old Australia, of mulleted blokes in vests skulling VB and rocking over-engined cars
28 Apr 2020
Car auction sites have rekindled Meaden's desire for the attainable
opinion

Car auction sites have rekindled Meaden's desire for the attainable

I'm going to wean myself off the glamour and glitz and reconnect with stuff that's good for the soul
14 Apr 2020
'Everything you always wanted to know about wipers (but were too sensible to ask)'
opinion

'Everything you always wanted to know about wipers (but were too sensible to ask)'

Car companies employ people whose entire job is wipers, and it's more complicated than you might assume
1 Apr 2020
'Why roofless collectables tarnish the image of the cars that inspired them'
opinion

'Why roofless collectables tarnish the image of the cars that inspired them'

I cannot conceive of any moment where you wouldn't look like a complete pillock in any of them
17 Mar 2020
Hooning around was a rite of passage, for Porter’s generation at least…
Hot hatchbacks

Hooning around was a rite of passage, for Porter’s generation at least…

In just a few weeks our mate had got a car, learnt to drive it and then broken it beyond repair. It was textbook
6 Mar 2020
'Horse power, rum coves and the faint whiff of manure…'
Classic cars

'Horse power, rum coves and the faint whiff of manure…'

The motor car comes with several drawbacks, chief among which is meeting the appetite of the blasted things
18 Feb 2020
'Who wouldn't want Ferrari to build something akin to a slightly scaled-up Alpine A110?'
Supercars

'Who wouldn't want Ferrari to build something akin to a slightly scaled-up Alpine A110?'

Meaden feels the big boys should look to bike manufacturers for some 'less is more' inspiration
4 Feb 2020
'Jaguar has a swish new design studio, but could it make Jag’s designs less swish?'
opinion

'Jaguar has a swish new design studio, but could it make Jag’s designs less swish?'

The higgledy-piggledy old place turned out some of the best-looking cars in the world
21 Jan 2020
'Top speed may ultimately be pointless, but it’s still fun chasing that childhood rush'
Skoda Octavia vRS

'Top speed may ultimately be pointless, but it’s still fun chasing that childhood rush'

Doing the best part of 230mph in a Skoda Octavia vRS was strangely undramatic
7 Jan 2020
'Want to become a motor racing legend? Lose the Terry Thomas ’tache'
opinion

'Want to become a motor racing legend? Lose the Terry Thomas ’tache'

Fernando Alonso was morphing into Dave Grohl by way of Laurence Llwelyn-Bowen
11 Dec 2019
'The new Trophy-R deserves to be celebrated, however much it costs'
Renault Megane RS

'The new Trophy-R deserves to be celebrated, however much it costs'

Why am I smitten? Because it's a car conceived and created by engineers and racers 
28 Nov 2019