Opinion

'Keeping your wheels scuff-free isn't that hard - is it?'
Opinion

'Keeping your wheels scuff-free isn't that hard - is it?'

Eighty per cent of alloy wheels are scratched to buggery. And I hate that. It makes the car look terrible, and it speaks of carelessness
26 Jun 2019
'The Aston Martin Valkyrie is a truly extraordinary project'
Opinion

'The Aston Martin Valkyrie is a truly extraordinary project'

Concorde was the product of boundless ambition; Aston Martin's Valkyrie represents that same spirit too
18 Jun 2019
'The new Land Rover Defender needs to change'
Opinion

'The new Land Rover Defender needs to change'

The market for this car isn't a mythical throng of utility workers and cattle herders, it's suburban families who dream of G-wagens
11 Jun 2019
'Think race circuits are scary? Try a test track...'
Opinion

'Think race circuits are scary? Try a test track...'

Once the barrier lifts you enter a different realm. One entirely different, often vaguely military
4 Jun 2019
‘Ford’s Expedition SUV is the epitome of American motoring'
Opinion

‘Ford’s Expedition SUV is the epitome of American motoring'

You’d assume the Expedition is part of that US tradition of gumming modern gadgets to 50-year-old iron work. Except it isn’t
30 May 2019
'Supercar launches used to be something special'
Opinion

'Supercar launches used to be something special'

Supercar launches used to be something special, now they’re a monthly occurrence
22 May 2019
'The Prius is the equal of any evo favourite'
Opinion

'The Prius is the equal of any evo favourite'

It's actually an incredible piece of engineering. And as people who like cars we should also like incredible pieces of engineering
14 May 2019
The biggest thrills often come from the simplest of things
Opinion

The biggest thrills often come from the simplest of things

The most enjoyable and rewarding thing with four wheels and an internal combustion engine is a kart
7 May 2019
'The Alpine A110 is anything but sterile to drive'
Opinion

'The Alpine A110 is anything but sterile to drive'

The absolutely brilliant Alpine A110 is anything but sterile to drive
30 Apr 2019
The 488 Pista's not a patch on the ‘flawed’ F40'
Opinion

The 488 Pista's not a patch on the ‘flawed’ F40'

The demands the F40 places on you to keep it on the boil would never be sanctioned today
23 Apr 2019
'Why a Range Rover could help you avoid Espace man'
Opinion

'Why a Range Rover could help you avoid Espace man'

I just liked the Rover 75. It was calming and comfortable. It also earned absolutely zero respect from other road users
17 Apr 2019
'Reborn classics are a hark back to simpler times'
Opinion

'Reborn classics are a hark back to simpler times'

There's a powerful craving for cars that are compact, characterful and beautiful
11 Apr 2019
'An electric E-type beats the Goldfinger DB5 Continuation'
Opinion

'An electric E-type beats the Goldfinger DB5 Continuation'

In a nutshell, the Aston Martin Goldfinger DB5 Continuation Edition is an expensive, largely unusable and deeply naff car for dullards
3 Apr 2019
The erosion of our ability to enjoy the open road isn’t new
Opinion

The erosion of our ability to enjoy the open road isn’t new

It’s the prescience of his observations and the relevance almost half a century later that really resonates
26 Mar 2019
An unlikely head-turner holds great promise
Opinion

An unlikely head-turner holds great promise

I’ve parked Ferraris outside my house and no one’s paid much attention, but everyone on my street went absolutely nuts for this
19 Mar 2019
Alpine’s leading a lightweight revival with the A110
Opinion

Alpine’s leading a lightweight revival with the A110

What excites me most is that it could be the beginning of a new and thrilling family of sports cars
12 Mar 2019
'Thanks to SUVs, normal car's days are surely numbered'
Opinion

'Thanks to SUVs, normal car's days are surely numbered'

Getting modern SUVs to handle in a half-decent manner is like getting a bear to dance: everyone's very impressed, but it's just not natural
6 Mar 2019
‘The joys of a group test are an increasingly rare treat in
Opinion

‘The joys of a group test are an increasingly rare treat in

The magazine road test is under threat at a time when it’s needed more than ever
28 Feb 2019
Richard Porter evo opinion
Opinion

Richard Porter evo opinion

This memory made me smile, but also made me sad, because I released I don't get quite as excited about cars as I used to...
19 Feb 2019
'you don’t need 500 horses to put a smile on your face'
Opinion

'you don’t need 500 horses to put a smile on your face'

Power and speed are intoxicating, but you don’t need 500 horses to put a smile on your face
12 Feb 2019
Opinion - Richard Porter
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Porter

If McLaren wants to continue its success with road cars, it’s time to pull down the pitlane shutters
31 Jan 2019
Dream Drive: Formula 1 at Circuit de Monaco
Opinion

Dream Drive: Formula 1 at Circuit de Monaco

Following in the tyre tracks of Senna, Hill and Hamilton is just a dream away…
9 Jan 2019
Opinion - Richard Meaden
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

It's over 30 years since Meaden passed his driving test, and it remains as the single most momentous thing he's ever passed
8 Jan 2019
Opinion - Richard Meaden
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

Gimmick or genuine drivers' tool? Meaden weights up digital driver modes, and their positive, or negative effect
11 Dec 2018
Would we miss Italian car makers?
Opinion

Would we miss Italian car makers?

If the Irish can cope without moles, are there some car companies that we can all live without?
20 Nov 2018
Opinion - Richard Porter
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Porter

Rusting bodywork is largely a thing of the past, but it’s unlikely car makers will address certain other issues, reckons Porter
23 Oct 2018
Opinion - Richard Meaden
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

These days if you’re searching for performance bargains you need to think big, reckons Meaden
3 Oct 2018
Opinion - Richard Meaden
opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

The cornering shot used to be a source of education and inspiration, but its currency has been devalued in recent times, reckons Meaden
25 Sep 2018
Opinion - Richard Meaden
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

Your perfect three-car garage? Child’s play, says Meaden. What you really want is to identify your automotive soulmate
11 Sep 2018
Opinion - Richard Porter
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Porter

Finding a carefully stored old car part in his father’s garage has got Porter feeling nostalgic for simpler, more resourceful times
4 Sep 2018
Opinion - Richard Meaden
opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

Flying may be quicker, but you can’t beat the sense of adventure that comes with a big-miles road-trip, reckons Meaden
28 Aug 2018
Richard Porter - Opinion
opinion

Richard Porter - Opinion

Porter’s thought of a new, low-cost way to get everyone driving more efficiently. The catch? It could be incredibly irritating…
21 Aug 2018
Opinion - Richard Meaden
opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

What was your most memorable drive? Dickie recounts some of his, and obviously, they're incredible...
14 Aug 2018
Opinion - Richard Meaden
Opinion

Opinion - Richard Meaden

There’s a natural antidote to the crushing ability of modern performance cars, says Meaden, just keep an eye on the Met Office
31 Jul 2018
Dickien Meaden opinion
Opinion

Dickien Meaden opinion

Long-term magazine tests are a fundamental link between you, the reader, and us, the journalists. We shouldn’t dismiss them, says Meaden
24 Jul 2018
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

Dickie Meaden opinion

It’s easy to get sentimental about cars, but to romanticise washing them? No problem for Meaden (who hasn’t held a sponge in years)
17 Jul 2018